Max Verstappen Takes Peerless Victory At The Monaco Grand Prix

2021 Monaco GP - Podium - Dailycarblog

Max ‘Maverick’ Verstappen dominated the 2021 Monaco Grand Prix as he sealed a professional and mature victory in his Red Bull Honda. The race itself was stagnant, devoid of any action which is typically Monaco. Monaco is the only F1 venue where the race is often won during Saturday’s qualifying. The street circuit is tight, twisty and narrow. Overtaking is considered to be almost impossible.

2021 Monaco Grand Prix - Race Report - Dailycarblog

The only real drama was during the race warm-up where pole sitter Charles Leclerc retired his Ferrari due to a broken driveshaft. That moved Verstappen into pole and an inevitable victory. Valtteri Bottas was forced to retire from second due to Mercedes botching his pitstop.

2021 Monaco GP - Bottas - Dailycarblog

Carlos Sainz drove his Ferrari to second and Lando Norris clinched his first Monaco podium by securing third for McLaren. Sebastian Vettel used the pitstop-undercut to finish fifth in his Aston Martin.

2021 Monaco Grand Prix - Vettel - Dailycarblog

Lewis Hamilton, by his standards, was AWOL during the entire Monaco Grand Prix weekend. The Mercedes driver started seventh, finished seventh and gained an extra point for setting the fastest race lap. But he did manage to lose his championship lead to Verstappen.

2021 Monaco GP - Hamilton - Dailycarblog

It was a rare off day for Hamilton and Mercedes. They do have these days over the course of a Grand Prix season. However, in the past, superior performance over the course of a campaign was their get-out-of-jail card. At Monaco they made mistakes. This year, Red Bull is finally flying, and the team that makes the fewest will take championship honors.

2021 Monaco Grand Prix - Verstappen - Dailycarblog

2021 Monaco Grand Prix Results:

133Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda781:38:56.82025
255Carlos SainzFerrari78+8.968s18
34Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes78+19.427s15
411Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda78+20.490s12
55Sebastian VettelAston Martin Mercedes78+52.591s10
610Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri Honda78+53.896s8
744Lewis HamiltonMercedes78+68.231s7
818Lance StrollAston Martin Mercedes77+1 lap4
931Esteban OconAlpine Renault77+1 lap2
1099Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari77+1 lap1
117Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari77+1 lap0
123Daniel RicciardoMcLaren Mercedes77+1 lap0
1314Fernando AlonsoAlpine Renault77+1 lap0
1463George RussellWilliams Mercedes77+1 lap0
156Nicholas LatifiWilliams Mercedes77+1 lap0
1622Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri Honda77+1 lap0
179Nikita MazepinHaas Ferrari75+3 laps0
1847Mick SchumacherHaas Ferrari75+3 laps0
NC77Valtteri BottasMercedes29DNF0
NC16Charles LeclercFerrari0DNS0

Note – Hamilton scored an additional point for setting the fastest lap of the race.

Leave a comment

to

Register | Lost your password?